All Cloud Tree hosting packages come with a free Comodo Auto SSL (DV) Certificate, this is automatically installed on your account shortly after it is created. So you are protected from day one.

However, some sites will need greater level of protection. Read more information below. 

Guide to SSL Certificates

With the cyber crimes increasing at a supersonic speed, it becomes crucial to be aware of different types of SSL Certificates available out there and which one is suitable for your company.

Without an SSL Certificate, your client’s data is transmitted over the wire unencrypted. Is that an acceptable risk?

Well, we don’t think so.

Surprisingly, there are still a lot of giant websites which are still not using SSL Certificates according to a recent Google report.

Therefore, before jumping directly onto the types of SSL certificates, let’s explore the what and why of these certificates.

What are SSL Certificates & Why You Need Them?

SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) Certificates are small data files that digitally bind a cryptographic key to an organization’s details.

SSL Certificates Secure:

  1. Credit card transactions
  2. Data transfers
  3. Logins
  4. Social media sites browsing

Google wants websites to have SSL Certificates since their top priority is security. Therefore, if you have an updated SSL Certificate, you will feature higher in their search results.

Different Types of SSL Certificates

Now that you know not having an SSL Certificate could be disastrous, here are different types of SSL Certificates available:

They can be grouped based on:

  1. Validation level
  2. Number of secured domains/subdomains
DV - Domain Validation Certificates
OV - Organization Validated Certificates
EV - Extended Validated Certificates
Single Domain

1. Domain Validated SSL

> Level of Validation

> How it is verified
The Certificate Authority or CA simply verifies that the organization has control over the concerned domain.

> Mode of verification
Usually done via email. For verification, you either make changes to a DNS record or upload a file supplied by the CA to the domain. By demonstrating control over the domain, they will be issued a certificate.

> Time taken 
Few minutes to few hours.

> Validation expense
Minimal since there is no human involvement.

> Indication
A browser with secured HTTPS connection.

2. Organisation Validated SSL 

> Level of Validation

> How it is verified
The CA investigates the organization making the application though not very deeply. They will contact the organization to make sure it is authenticated.

> Mode of verification
The Certificate Authority validates the ownership of the domain along with organization information included in the certificate like name, city, and country.

> Time taken
Few days.

> Validation expense
More than domain validation since humans are involved.

> Indication
Display company information in certificate details.

3. Extended Validation Certificate

> Level of Validation
Most strict level.

> How it is verified
The CA validates the ownership, organization information, physical location, and legal existence of the company. It also validates if the organization is aware of the SSL certificate request and then approves it.

> Mode of verification
Documents are required to certify the company identity along with lots of checks.

> Time taken 
Few weeks.

> Validation expense
Most expensive due to high human involvements.

> Indication
A green address bar with company’s name.

Company information shown on Certificate details

Types of SSL Certificates by Number of Domains

On the basis of the number of domains and subdomains, there are 3 certificates:

1. Single-name SSL Certificates

Protects a single subdomain/hostname.

Example: If you purchase single-name SSL Certificate for, it doesn’t mean you can secure

2. Wildcard SSL Certificates

Protects an unlimited number of subdomains for a single domain.

Example: If you purchase a certificate for, it will secure,, etc. It will work on any subdomain.

However, it will not secure or


3. Unified SSL Certificates/Multi-Domain SSL Certificates/SAN Certificates

It allows customers to protect up to 100 domains with the help of the same certificate. They are specially designed to secure Microsoft Exchange and Office Communications environments. It protects different domains with a single certificate with the help of the SAN extension.

See SSL Pricing

View full information and pricing on our range of SSL certificates.